Pittsburgh Criminal Defense Lawyer
New laws allowing people to erase or at least hide their criminal records from public view are hugely beneficial.
People who gets their criminal records expunged, on average, see their wages increased by more than 20 percent within a year, according to the first major empirical study of expungement laws.
Additionally, people with expunged records break the law again at very low rates.
Expungement is a powerful tool for improving outcomes for people with criminal records, without risk to public safety.
Spivak Law Firm helps people expunge their criminal records so they can move on with their lives. For more information, call us at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
Attorney Todd Spivak, founding partner at Spivak Law Firm, was featured in a recent article about whether the rights of crime victims should be added to the Pennsylvania constitution.
The American Civil Liberties Union and League of Women Voters oppose the referendum on grounds that it would adversely affect the constitutional rights of criminal defendants.
Pennsylvania first adopted the Crime Victims Rights Act in 1998, allowing victims to present impact statements to the court prior to criminal sentencing and to be notified of significant actions pertaining to their case.
On Tuesday, voters determined whether to support Marsy’s Law, named for the victim of a domestic-violence homicide. Several states have passed their own versions of the law to strengthen the rights of crime victims.
Spivak Law Firm handles all criminal defense matters with a special focus on domestic violence. We help defendants facing charges of: assault, harassment, terroristic threats, stalking, strangulation, child endangerment, and reckless endangerment.
To speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney, call Spivak Law Firm at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
The legal consequences for repeatedly driving under the influence in Pennsylvania have become much more severe under a recent new law, which establishes the state’s first felony for DUI.
It applies when someone has been charged with a third offense in a decade with at least twice the legal limit for alcohol, or to any fourth-time offender.
The new law mandates longer jail time for those who unintentionally cause someone’s death because of a repeat DUI violation.
The stiffer penalties include increased fines and penalties for driving under the influence on a license suspended due to a DUI conviction.
Spivak Law Firm handles all areas of criminal defense, including DUI, domestic-violence defense, PFA violations, and criminal-record expungements. We routinely handle preliminary hearings and summary trials.
Charged with a crime? Call Spivak Law Firm at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
In Pennsylvania, people convicted of misdemeanor domestic-violence crimes will be required to relinquish their guns to police within 24 hours.
The new law applies to people convicted of:
- Simple Assault
- Terroristic Threats
- Aggravated Assault
- Endangering The Welfare of A Child
- Recklessly Endangering Another Person
- Child Abuse
The new law could have a devastating impact on people whose livelihoods depend on the ability to carry a firearm such as police officers and other law-enforcement officials.
Spivak Law Firm provides strong, aggressive defense for people accused of domestic abuse. For a free consultation, call us at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
Being able to tell the difference between a healthy relationship and an abusive relationship can be difficult.
You may be in an abusive relationship if your partner:
- Exhibits an explosive temper
- Inflicts physical pain in any way
- Belittles you or puts you down
- Checks your cell phones, emails or social networks without permission
- Demonstrates extreme jealousy or insecurity
Spivak Law Firm helps victims of domestic violence get the legal protections they need at Protection From Abuse (PFA) hearings and by working with prosecutors on criminal domestic-violence cases. To schedule a consultation, call Spivak Law Firm at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
Probation and parole are two terms that are commonly misused. Probation is given instead of a prison sentence, while parole is something granted to prisoners as a reward for good behavior.
Probation allows a person convicted of a crime to avoid jail as long as he or she follows certain conditions set by the court. Such conditions commonly include remaining employed, abiding by a curfew, and submitting to drug and alcohol tests. Parole, meanwhile, refers to the early release of a prisoner who promises to follow certain restrictions.
Violating your probation or parole can land you in jail or even extend your punishment. At Spivak Law Firm, we aim to keep you out of jail and avoid additional penalties. To learn more, call us at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
Underage drinking is a criminal offense in Pennsylvania punishable by up to three months in jail.
The legal age for buying, drinking, possessing or transporting alcohol in Pennsylvania is 21-years-old.
The mere attempt to purchase alcohol may result in a summary offense if you’re underage.
Additionally, the Department of Transportation may suspend the defendant’s driver’s license even if there was no car involved.
A first conviction will result in a 30-day suspension of driving privileges; a second conviction will result in a 1-year suspension; and any additional convictions will result in a 2-year suspension.
For a free consultation with an experienced criminal defense attorney, call Spivak Law Firm at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
High pretrial detention rates are a major component of mass incarceration, accounting for 99 percent of jail growth over the last 15 years. Women comprise the fastest rate of growth among incarcerated populations.
Women held in pretrial detention often face long separations from their families resulting in devastating collateral consequences such as loss of child custody and eviction from their homes.
Spivak Law Firm provides strong, compassionate representation in all family-law and criminal-defense matters with a special focus on domestic violence and child custody. Call us at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
The Pittsburgh-based firm handles all areas of family law and criminal defense with a special focus on Protection from Abuse (PFA) hearings and high-conflict child custody cases.
Our award-winning attorneys have helped hundreds of people accused of physical abuse, harassment, stalking, sexual abuse, child abuse, and other forms of domestic abuse.
In many cases, we get the PFA and related criminal charges dismissed then expunge our client’s records so they can fully move on with their lives.
We handle the following family law cases: divorce, child custody, child support, spousal support, Children Youth and Families (CYF), and Protection From Abuse (PFA).
We routinely defend people criminally charged with: domestic violence, driving under the influence (DUI), simple assault, aggravated assault, harassment, recklessly endangering another person, stalking, disorderly conduct, retail theft and various other misdemeanors and summary offenses.
This month, Attorney Todd Spivak was honored again by American Institute of Family Law Attorneys and designated a Super Lawyer.
Attorney Rebecca Canterbury was named a Top 10 Family Law Attorney by Attorney and Practice Magazine and received a 10.0 rating on the Avvo legal directory, where clients routinely sing her praises as a strong, compassionate advocate who gets results.
To speak with an experienced family law or criminal defense attorney, call Spivak Law Firm at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
Disorderly conduct is generally charged as a summary offense, though it may be graded as a more serious third-degree misdemeanor under certain conditions in Pennsylvania.
Disorderly conduct is a third-degree misdemeanor when:
- The defendant intends to cause “substantial” harm;
- The defendant intends to cause “serious” inconvenience; or
- The defendant “persists” in disorderly conduct after reasonable warning to stop.
Penalties for a summary offense include a maximum of 90 days in jail, whereas penalties for a third-degree misdemeanor offense include a maximum of one year in jail.
Under Pennslylvania law, only summary offenses can be expunged after five years, though third-degree misdemeanors may be eligible for sealing after 10 years.
To speak with an experienced criminal defense and expungement attorney, call Spivak Law Firm at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.