South Hills Family Law Firm
Penalties for theft crimes in Pennsylvania can be severe. The penalty is based on the value of the stolen property. A first offense for stolen property valued at less than $150 is punishable by up to 90 days in jail, though many first-time offenders serve probation only. Theft of property valued between $150 and $2,000 is punishable by up to five years in prison.
With an experienced attorney, you may be able to participate in an accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD) program that allows you to avoid incarceration so long as you pay a fine and complete your probation, which often includes a provision restricting you from entering the business where the theft occurred.
For a free consultation with an experienced criminal defense attorney, call Spivak Law Firm at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
When it comes to divorce, many common beliefs are accepted as truths. However, the process of divorce is incredibly complex and every case is unique.
Here are some of the most common divorce myths and why they aren’t always true:
- Mom always gets custody: In Pennsylvania, the law does not favor either parent for custody. The judge is required to look at what is in the child’s best interest.
- Only women get alimony: Historically, women have been awarded spousal support or alimony more often than men. As more women enter the workplace and change gender roles, it is becoming more common for men to receive some form of alimony. Alimony is generally awarded to the lower earning spouse when there is a significant disparity in incomes.
- I don’t need a divorce lawyer: Even if you are on good enough terms with your spouse going into the divorce, you need to make sure you have someone in your corner who is going to ensure your rights are protected.
Spivak Law Firm handles all areas of family law, including: divorce, child custody, child support, and PFA hearings. To speak with an experienced family law attorney, call Spivak Law Firm at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
A: Yes. Unlike the adult criminal system, the juvenile justice system emphasizes rehabilitation over punishment with the ultimate goal of helping children become functioning members of society.
First-time offenders are usually eligible for probation, which may include performing community service and paying restitution.
Spivak Law Firm provides strong defense for juveniles accused of misdemeanor and felony crimes. If you or your child is charged with a crime, call us at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
Pulling away from an officer attempting to arrest you could be enough to sustain the charge of resisting arrest, which is usually filed in addition to the charges for which the police were arresting you.
Resisting arrest is a second-degree misdemeanor, which could result in up to two years in prison and as much as a $5,000 fine.
Spivak Law Firm handles all criminal defense matters, including: preliminary hearings, summary trials, and expungements. For a free consultation call Spivak Law Firm at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
Criminal charges for possessing marijuana may not seem as serious as other offenses, especially since it is legal in over 20 states. But in Pennsylvania, marijuana-related crimes are still often treated with the same severity as other drug crimes.
Federal law classifies marijuana as a Schedule I drug, which means that it is considered among the most addicting drugs, such as heroin, and has no medical benefits.
Spivak Law Firm advocates for the legalization of marijuana and more research into the medicinal benefits of the drug for people suffering from multiple sclerosis, cancer, and other debilitating diseases.
If you face drug possession charges, call Spivak Law Firm at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
Here are three ways to prepare for divorce:
- Know your finances and make sure to obtain access to financial records, account statements, and other financial documents.
- Avoid social media, as pictures, posts and Internet activity is commonly used as evidence in custody and parenting time disputes.
- Set money aside for legal and other professional fees.
Spivak Law Firm handles all areas of family law, including: divorce, child custody, child support, and PFA hearings. To speak with an experienced family law attorney, call Spivak Law Firm at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390
Were you defending yourself from an aggressor and charged with a domestic-violence crime? This may seem unjust, but it happens routinely. Police officers responding to domestic violence incidents generally make arrests if they observe injuries on the other party.
Spivak Law Firm routinely helps those accused of domestic-violence crimes by providing strong, effective representation. Common domestic-violence crimes include:
- Simple Assault
- Aggravated Assault
- Terroristic Threats
- Recklessly Endangering Another Person
To speak with an experienced domestic-violence defense attorney, call Spivak Law Firm at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
Divorce is a complicated process for everyone involved, especially for the children of co-parents. For children, picking up the signals and nuances of emotional relationships is no easy task. For example, children of divorced parents may mistake civility for a possibility of a reunion.
Here are three tips for protecting your children as you navigate the divorce process:
- Remind your children how important they are in your separate lives.
- Don’t project your own feelings about your ex onto your children.
- Explain to your children why a reunion with their other parent may not be possible.
Spivak Law Firm provides experienced counsel to help you navigate the divorce process in a way that protects your children. To schedule a consultation, call Spivak Law Firm at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
If you’ve been criminally charged with drug possession, punishment can be greater if it is a Schedule I or II drug. Schedule I drugs include marijuana, heroin, and LSD. Schedule II drugs include methamphetamine, cocaine, Oxycontin, and Percocet.
If this is your first Schedule I or II drug offense, you face a mandatory six-month driver’s license suspension. You also face as much as a $5,000 fine and up to one year in jail.
The penalties associated with drug possession could harm your educational opportunities, employment opportunities, and even your child custody rights.
If you face criminal drug possession charges, call Spivak Law Firm at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.
After a divorce decree has been entered, the lower-earning spouse may be entitled to continued financial support in the form of alimony.
Courts generally award alimony only if the division of the marital estate is not sufficient to help the dependent spouse.
Alimony is based on the financial need of the dependent spouse and the length of the parties’ marriage.
To schedule a consultation with a family law attorney, call Spivak Law Firm at (412) 344-4900 or toll free at (800) 545-9390.